Absentee vote deadline nears in special election

HARRISON COUNTY, MS (WLOX) - New Year's Day will not be a holiday for Harrison County circuit clerks. Their offices must be open on Saturday, just in case anybody wants to cast an absentee ballot in the District 116 house race. New Year's Day is the last day absentee votes will be accepted.

The eight people running in the January 11 special election are:

Jim Atchison
Travis Burke
Jamie Creel
Todd Echelberry
Casey Eure
Jess Hogue
Quentin Lyles
Chuck Stein

The winner completes the final year of Steven Palazzo's term in the state house.

The more prominent election next year is one featuring candidates for statewide seats. And those races get off to a flying start next week.

Lt. Governor Phil Bryant will be in Gulfport Monday morning to officially announce that he's running for governor. A day later, Billy Hewes holds a rally to announce his plans to run for Lieutenant Governor.

Our 2011 political coverage begins Sunday night at 10:30 when David Elliott talks politics with South Mississippian Dave Dennis. The Pass Christian businessman has been crossing the state in recent months, campaigning to be Mississippi's next governor.

Copyright 2010 WLOX. All rights reserved.