Mayor Holloway to join other US mayors in New Orleans today - - The News for South Mississippi

Mayor Holloway to join other US mayors in New Orleans today


NEW ORLEANS, LA (WLOX) - The 78th Annual Meeting of The United States Conference of Mayors was held in Oklahoma last week. Several of those mayors will tour the BP Oil Disaster waters, meet with fishermen and develop future strategy over fresh catch Louisiana seafood lunch in New Orleans.

Monday, Mayor Holloway will be in New Orleans joining mayors from 24 other cities to show solidarity as we continue to battle the oil spill.

The US Conference of Mayors is sponsoring the meeting, and it is hosted by New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu.

It will include a Coast Guard briefing and boat tour.

The mayors will join Mayor Landrieu in a briefing with Coast Guard officials, a bus trip to Lafitte (LA), a boat tour with Louisiana fishermen and a late seafood lunch at Bon Ton Restaurant in New Orleans.

Last week during The Conference of Mayors' Annual Meeting in Oklahoma City, U.S. mayors passed a resolution on the oil disaster calling for the Obama Administration to establish a special task force of appropriate senior federal officials, including a Gulf Oil Disaster commander to direct the actions of all the federal agencies involved, to provide timely and updated information to mayors and local officials on mitigation efforts, and to ensure that lead federal agencies are coordinating closely with cities and local governments in ALL PHASES of the national response.

Participating Mayors:

  • Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, Burnsville, MN
  • Mayor Mike Nutter, Philadelphia, PA
  • Mayor Mitch Landrieu, New Orleans, LA
  • Mayor Kip Holden, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Mayor Tim Kerner, Jean Laffite, LA
  • Mayor Helene Schneider, Santa Barbara, CA
  • Mayor Bob Foster, Long Beach, CA
  • Mayor Frank Hibbard, Clearwater FL
  • Mayor Randall Henderson Jr., Fort Myers, FL
  • Mayor Sam Jones, Mobile, AL
  • Mayor Charley Dumas, Prentiss, MS
  • Mississippi Municipal League (MML) President-Elect Mayor A. J. Holloway, City of Biloxi, MS
  • Mayor Annise Parker, Houston, TX
  • Mayor Mark Burroughs, Denton, TX
  • Chief Of Staff, Tallahassee, FL
  • C. Scott Dudley, Florida League of Cities
  • MML Executive Director, George E. Lewis
  • Don Borut, Carolyn Coleman, Mitch Herckis, National League of Cities

The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more.

There are 1,139 such cities in the country today, each represented in the conference by its chief elected official, the Mayor.

Copyright 2010 WLOX. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly