Steffon Walby is named S P H L Coach of the Year - - The News for South Mississippi

Steffon Walby is named S P H L Coach of the Year

By A.J. Giardina – bio | email


BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - Steffon Walby has guided the Mississippi Surge to a 34-14-8 record and captured the William B. Coffey Trophy, winning the SPHL regular season title.

He took an expansion team and molded the Surge into a cohesive aggressive hockey team ready to make a run at the 2010 President's Cup beginning Friday night at 7:30 inside the Mississippi Coast Coliseum hosting the Columbus Cottonmouths.

After the SPHL announced that Walby was selected Coach of the Year, he said, "I'm humbled and honored to be selected for this award by my fellow coaches." "The guys I really need to thank are the guys that wore the Surge jerseys this year, because they bought into the system, came here to learn, and together we were successful as a team."

This is Walby's third season as a head coach.  He previously coached the ECHL's Mississippi Sea Wolves for two seasons before the team disbanded.

Pensacola's Todd Gordon was second in the SPHL Coach of the Year voted followed by Louisiana's Dave MacIsaac.


©2009 WLOX. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly