Biloxi mayor's fifth swearing-in

By Krystal Allan - bio | email

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - Some familiar faces will lead Biloxi into the next four years, including Mayor A.J. Holloway and five returning council members.

But, two new faces have joined the ranks of leadership, retired Lieutenant General Clark Griffith will oversee Ward 4 while Lucy Denton will lead Ward 3.   Denton is the first woman to be elected in several years.

"I want to thank the 270 people that voted for me....I want to thank you today for giving me this opportunity," says Denton.

"I thank you, and I guarantee you I'm not going to let you down," says Griffith.

After the council was sworn in, Mayor A.J. Holloway took the oath of office.  He became the first mayor in Biloxi history to be sworn in five times.

"Sixteen years ago when you first elected me as your mayor, I said Biloxi lives in my heart and soul...and for her I hold in the deepest regard," says Holloway.

But, he wasn't the only one making history Wednesday night, Ward 5 Councilman Tom Wall became the first Biloxi councilman to serve five consecutive terms.  He was also celebrating his 50th wedding anniversary.

Throughout the ceremony, the harmonic sounds of Ame (a female singing trio), Ronny Broussard, Michaela Moore, Shay Lawson and local singing legend Chris Moore entertained the audience.

Following the ceremony, there was a reception catered by area restaurants.

You can check out the city's website for exclusive photos from Wednesday's inauguration and see a copy of the mayor's speech.

©2009 WLOX. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.