Griffith wins Biloxi's Ward 4, again

By WLOX Staff

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - Monday morning's hand recount of the ballots from Biloxi's Ward 4A polling place showed no major differences from the election night vote count. That means retired Air Force Gen. Clark Griffith remains the Republican winner.

Representatives of the Republican Executive Committee, acting at the request of Ward 4 Councilman Mike Fitzpatrick, re-counted primary ballots cast on May 5 at the West Biloxi Library, the Ward 4A polling precinct. The count was performed at City Hall by Committee Chair Pete Wilson and committee members Harry B. Joachim and Wendy Barthe Peavy.

The recount showed Griffith with 622 votes, two votes less than the election-night count; Fitzpatrick had 287 votes, one vote less than the election-night count; and challenger Richard K. Callaway II received 28 votes, a figure unchanged from election night.

"Since there was essentially no change from election night, we have certified the election and Clark Griffith is the clear winner," Wilson said.

Click here to see all the results from the May 5th primary election.

©2009 WLOX. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.