One Bulldog and one Rebel on All-SEC Team

ATLANTA (AP) - LSU has taken the top two awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team.

Senior guard Marcus Thornton was named player of the year Monday, and Trent Johnson took the coach of the year award after leading the Tigers to a 26-7 record, the SEC's regular-season

championship (13-3) and a spot in the NCAA tournament in his first season with the Tigers.

Terrico White of Ole Miss was named newcomer of the year.

Thornton, who averages 20.7 points a game, was a unanimous first-team selection. He was joined by the SEC's top scorer, Jodie Meeks of Kentucky (24.2), along with South Carolina's Devan Downey, Tennessee's Tyler Smith, Mississippi State's Jarvis Varnado,

Florida's Nick Calathes and LSU's Tasmin Mitchell. Varnado, Calathes and Mitchell tied for the final first-team spot.