Waveland opens absentee ballots ahead of city’s general election

Waveland opens absentee ballots ahead of city’s general election

WAVELAND, MS (WLOX) - Absentee voting is officially open from now to December 3 for residents in Waveland. Those who can’t make it to the city elections on December 4 have the option to exercise their right to vote ahead of time.

The elections are being held to select a mayor and the aldermen who will represent all four of Waveland's wards on city council.

Officials say there are plans to make the absentee ballots accessible to those who may need assistance when leaving the house. “If they’re disabled or over 65, we will be happy to send them a ballot through the mail. All they have to do is call in here at city hall, and we’ll send them what they need, said Tammy Fayard, Waveland Deputy City Clerk.

“We plan also to stay open on Nov. 17 and Nov. 24 until noon so we can offer folks extra time to submit their absentee ballots," Fayard added.

See the full list of candidates for Waveland’s municipal elections below:


· Mike Smith, Democrat

· Jay Trapani, Independent

Alderman, Ward 1:

· Henry Tebbe, Republican

· Jay Fountain, Democrat

· Jeremy Burke, Independent

Alderman, Ward 2:

· Laronne Lewis, Democrat

· Bobby Richardson, Republican

Alderman, Ward 3:

· Don M. Siebenkittel, Republican

· Shane Lafontaine, Democrat

Alderman, Ward 4:

· Mark Kidd, Democrat

· Charles Piazza, Independent

· Sara Cure, Independent

Candidates for Executive Committee (All Dems)

· Alfred Harris

· Gerard Louis Harris

· Sandra Harris

· David K. Sauer

· Janis A. Vezzoso

Copyright 2018 WLOX. All rights reserved.